Back to top

Communicating for a Clean Future: Ohio Marine Debris Challenge Award Ceremony

MAY 20, 2019 — The Marine Debris Program is excited to announce the winners of the third annual Ohio Marine Debris Challenge!

Large group poses for photo.
Winning students, teachers, and other dignitaries at the award ceremony, including Representative Marcy Kaptur; Cayla Shreffler of Senator Rob Portman’s District Office; Ann Longsworth-Orr of Senator Sherrod Brown’s District Office; Dr. Christopher Winslow, Director of Ohio Sea Grant; Sue Bixler Ohio Sea Grant/Stone Lab; Marcie Sandine, Cedar Point; and Sarah Lowe, Marine Debris Program Great Lakes Regional Coordinator. Image credit: NOAA.

The contest is open every year to students in grades 9-12 who are enrolled in recognized public, private, and home schools in Ohio’s Lake Erie coastal communities. Students complete lessons and create a public service announcement to help raise awareness of marine debris.

On May 13, winning teams were recognized at an awards ceremony at Cedar Point Amusement Park, and were given recognition by members of congress, including Representative Marcy Kaptur, Senator Rob Portman, and Senator Sherrod Brown. This year’s winners include:

  • First Place - Perkins High School (Teacher: Ashlie Gowitzka): Elly B., Olivia G.,
  • Bella L., Sophia M., Madison S., Alyssa W.
  • Second Place - Perkins High School (Teacher: Ashlie Gowitzka): Madisyn N., Chloe N., Jenna M.
  • Honorable Mention - Clay High School (Teacher: Joe Carstensen): Rodrigo T., Nathan H., Austin P.  
  • Honorable Mention - Fairview High School (Teacher: Colleen Sliwinski): Maddie K., Sydney P., Tommy M., John Z.

To learn more about the contest and see the winning videos, visit the Marine Debris Program website. 

For more information, contact

Return to OR&R Weekly Report.

Last updated Friday, June 14, 2019 2:11pm PDT