Back to top

New Monthly Webinar: Salvaging Solutions to Abandoned and Derelict Vessels

February 8, 2021 — The Marine Debris Program is excited to announce our new monthly webinar series, Salvaging Solutions to Abandoned and Derelict Vessels. Every fourth Wednesday of the month at 3:00 pm ET, the webinar will feature experts on a topic related to abandoned and derelict vessels (ADVs), to share perspectives and solutions from across the country on common ADV issues.  

 

Three people standing on a barge with two abandoned vessels.
Salvage Company removes abandoned and derelict vessels from the Charleston Harbor, South Carolina. Image credit: NOAA

Thousands of ADVs litter coastal waterways all over the country, obstructing navigational channels, causing harm to the environment, and diminishing commercial and recreational activities. ADVs originate in a variety of ways, from natural disasters, such as hurricanes, to owner neglect. For many communities, assessing, removing, and disposing of these vessels is complex and requires significant financial resources. Often this leads to vessels persisting for years in a watery purgatory while agencies try to coordinate funding and authority for removal.  

This webinar series will spotlight successes and challenges from ADV specialists from federal, state, and local governments, nongovernmental organizations, universities, and industry, in hopes that this shared knowledge will help communities better address and reduce the numbers of ADVs nationwide. 

We welcome attendance from anyone with an interest in ADVs, particularly local, state, and federal agencies, tribal entities, nongovernmental organizations, and other organizations engaged in the issue. Our first webinar, Knowing the Ropes, will kick-off with a series of talks to provide an overview of the issue on a national, regional, and local level, and set the stage for the rest of the series. 

Join us for our first webinar on February 24, 2021, at 3 pm ET/2pm CT/12 pm PT/10 am HT on Adobe Connect at https://noaaorr.adobeconnect.com/advs/.  

You can also stay up-to-date on the monthly upcoming topics by visiting our website, subscribing to our newsletter, or emailing us at SalvagingSolutions@noaa.gov

Return to OR&R Weekly.

 

Last updated Friday, February 12, 2021 2:01pm PST