NOAA Regional Response Team (RRT) Representation

There are 13 Regional Response Teams (RRTs) in the U.S., each representing a particular geographic region (including Alaska, the Caribbean, and the Pacific Basin). RRTs are composed of representatives from field offices of the federal agencies that make up the National Response Team (NRT), as well as state representatives. The four major responsibilities of RRTs are: response, planning, training, and coordination.

  • Response: RRTs provide a forum for federal agency field offices and state agencies to exchange information about their abilities to respond to On-Scene Coordinator's (OSC's) requests for assistance. As with the NRT, RRT members do not respond directly to releases or spills, but may be called upon to provide technical advice, equipment, or manpower to assist with a response.
  • Planning: Each RRT develops a Regional Contingency Plan (RCP) to ensure that the roles of federal and state agencies during an actual incident are clear. Following an incident, the RRT reviews the OSC's reports to identify problems with the Region's response to the incident and improves the plan as necessary.
  • Training: Federal agencies that are members of the RRTs provide simulation exercises of the RCP or Area Contingency Plan (ACP) that each RRT maintains. These exercises test the ability of federal, state, and local agencies to coordinate their emergency response activities. Any major problems identified as a result of these exercises may be addressed and changed in the RCP so the same problems do not arise during an actual incident.
  • Coordination: The RRTs identify available resources from each federal agency and state within their regions. Such resources include equipment, guidance, training, and technical expertise for dealing with chemical releases or oil spills. When there are too few resources in a region, the RRT can request assistance from federal or state authorities to ensure that sufficient resources will be available during an incident. This coordination by the RRTs assures that resources are used as wisely as possible, and that no region is lacking what it needs to protect human health and the environment.

The following map shows the Regional Response Team (RRT) regions. The table below lists the NOAA primary and alternate representatives for each RRT region and their contact information.

Map of U.S. showing Regional Response Team regions I through X.
REGION I

Steve Lehmann
steve.lehmann@noaa.gov
617.877.2806

Alternate:
Ed Levine
ed.levine@noaa.gov
240.533.0397

REGION II

Frank Csulak
frank.csulak@noaa.gov
732.371.1005

Alternate:
Ed Levine
ed.levine@noaa.gov
240.533.0397

REGION III

Frank Csulak
frank.csulak@noaa.gov
732.371.1005

Alternate:
Ed Levine
ed.levine@noaa.gov
240.533.0397

REGION IV

Bradford Benggio
brad.benggio@noaa.gov
954.684.8486

Alternate:
Adam Davis
adam.davis@noaa.gov
206.549.7759

REGION V

Steve Lehmann
steve.lehmann@noaa.gov
617.877.2806

Alternate:
LT Michael Doig
michael.e.doig@noaa.gov
202.557.6801

Region VI

Charlie Henry
charlie.henry@noaa.gov
206.849.9928

Alternate:
Paige Doelling, PhD
paige.doelling@noaa.gov
206.549.7819

REGIONS VII

Adam Davis
adam.davis@noaa.gov
206.549.7759

Alternate:
LT Michael Doig
michael.e.doig@noaa.gov
202.557.6801

REGION VIII

Adam Davis
adam.davis@noaa.gov
206.549.7759

Alternate:
LT Michael Doig
michael.e.doig@noaa.gov
202.557.6801

REGION IX

Jordan Stout
jordan.stout@noaa.gov
510.437.5344

Alternate:
John Tarpley
john.tarpley@noaa.gov
Cell: 206.459.8638

REGION X

Gary Shigenaka
gary.shigenaka@noaa.gov
206.526.6402

Alternate:
CAPT Jesse Stark
jesse.stark@noaa.gov
206.526.6322

ALASKA RRT

Doug Helton
doug.helton@noaa.gov
206.526.4563

Alternate:
Catherine Berg
catherine.berg@noaa.gov
907.529.9157

OCEANIA RRT

Ruth Yender
ruth.yender@noaa.gov
808.725.5903

Alternate:
Jordan Stout
jordan.stout@noaa.gov
510.437.5344

CARIBBEAN RRT

Bradford Benggio
brad.benggio@noaa.gov
954.684.8486

Alternate:
Adam Davis
adam.davis@noaa.gov
206.549.7759

 

 

 
Questions: Contact us with your questions, comments, or suggestions about NOAA's role in Regional Response Teams.