Back to top

Disaster Preparedness Program Staff Awarded 2020 NOS Team Member of the Year Award

OCTOBER 19, 2020 — The Team Member of the Year award recognizes outstanding contributions to the National Ocean Service (NOS) programs and the demonstrated exceptional and sustained effort toward accomplishment of NOS missions.

The Disaster Preparedness Program has the mission to prepare NOS and partners to respond to and recover from disasters. The success of this mission is driven by a high-performing team of contract staff that has gone above and beyond expected duties despite prolonged and unusual adversity. This group activated for pandemic situational awareness and coordination efforts across NOAA in early March 2020, embarking on an unprecedented and prolonged incident coordination effort that confounds norms of emergency response, especially during hurricane season.

The team is responsible for nearly all of the critical DPP portfolio areas, including preparedness training, planning, and regional support; NOAA’s long-term recovery framework; disaster exercises and drills; and emergency event coordination. While managing and adapting these critical portfolios to remote settings, the team has risen to the challenge of full-time telework and physical distancing while remaining laser focused on preparedness and response activities during the busy 2020 hurricane and wildfire season. The team stepped up to support others across NOAA; developed innovative products; conducted virtual trainings, exercises and workshops; and came up with alternate ways to maintain our remote emergency response posture.

The Disaster Preparedness Program team never stops, never says never, and continues to deliver quality products and services to NOS and NOAA to meet their preparedness mission in these challenging times. The fact that they have thrived during this time is a testament to the expertise and commitment of this amazing emergency response team.

Please join us in congratulating Alyson Finn, Autumn Lotze, Charles Grisafi, Collin Buckner, Katherine Krushinski, and Kimberly Albins, on being selected for a 2020 NOS Team Member of the Year Award!

For more information, please contact

Return to OR&R Weekly.

Last updated Tuesday, November 8, 2022 1:45pm PST