Back to top

Registration Open for the Great Shakeout

On Oct. 21, OR&R’s Disaster Preparedness Program will lead two opportunities to practice earthquake safety during The Great Shakeout. Registration is now open for participants to join at either 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET or 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET.

A graphic reading "Get Read to Shake Out."

This short event is designed to bring awareness to earthquake preparedness in support of the upcoming National Level Exercise 2022 that focuses on the Cascadia Subduction Zone, located on the West Coast.

During this preparedness activity, participants will hear a pre-recorded emergency alert asking them to get into their safe place and cover and hold for 1 minute. Also during this time, the program is asking participants to snap a picture of themselves in their safe spot and send it to us. We’ll then feature this activity and the photos in an upcoming OR&R Weekly as well as a future awareness and preparedness blog focusing on earthquakes.

Click here to register for either session of the Great Shakeout exercise on Oct. 21. Once registered, you will receive a separate Google Calendar invite for your requested time.

For more information, contact Leah.Odeneal@noaa.gov or Katherine.Krushinski@noaa.gov.

Last updated Thursday, October 14, 2021 4:51pm PDT